Vegan Booze

by Sandra
Last updated: 08/11/17

Disclaimer: Photos are submitted by the Vegan Womble community. Packaging and ingredients can change over time, so please DOUBLE CHECK EVERYTHING, and let us know if you spot any changes. We include products that state ‘may contain milk/egg’, i.e. they are at risk of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process. Read more…

This is simply an allergy warning, but these products cannot be marked vegan by law. They are however, generally considered suitable for vegans. To help keep this resource going, Vegan Womble would receive a small amount of commission if you were to purchase a product, via any affiliate links in this post.

Product suggestions and photos are submitted by the Vegan Womble community – you are our eyes and ears. We will keep adding products as they come in, so please keep sending us your vegan discoveries.

A list of alcoholic drinks that are clearly labelled vegan or have been confirmed as vegan.

Often animal parts are used in the fining process such as isinglass, which is fish bladders. Carmine is in drinks such as Campari.  It comes under many other names such as Crimson Lake, Natural Red 4, Cochineal to name but a few. If you see a bright red drink (also found in lipsticks/food colouring too), chances are it could well be beetles. Dairy is sometimes used in alcohol, as is egg albumen and gelatine. Honey is also often found in drinks. 

Few links you may wish to check out:

Vegan Wines Online
Good Will Wine
Benefit Wines

Vegan Stouts options in UK: Samuel Smith’s Brewery

Other safe lists:

Camra list of vegan beers
Barnivore
Veggie Wines 

ALDI

For their latest vegan lists see this pageAlso there Oscar peach schnapps has been confirmed vegan.

Mulled wine

ALSKA CIDER

I haven’t seen this myself, but their website clearly says on the home page that its vegan. They are sold in Aldi.

ASDA

Voted best wine in the UK!!

ASPALL

Listing from the Waitrose Veggie/Vegan Beer and Wine booklet.

 w-beer-booklet-showing-leaf

BATEMANS

BEAVERTOWN

All vegan except honey and ginger

beavertown beers all sfv except honey and ginger

BESOS DE ORO

broadlands

Red wine blended with dark chocolate flavouring, sold in B&M

CARLING

CO-OP

Co-op clearly label all booze that is vegan. Just call or email to get info. There last vegan list is very out of date as does list alcohol that is no longer vegan, so best to just check the label. Please note to keep checking wine as it can vary from year to year.

 coop wine

 

BROTHERS

ENGLISH HERITAGE

FIRST CAPE

FUNKIN COCKTAIL PEOPLE

“Thanks for your email and interest in Funkin. I’m pleased to say that all of our products, with the expectation of the Pina Colada, are suitable for Vegans. If you have any further questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.” 

FREDDIES

HENRY WESTONS CIDER

HOOPERS

db booze db booze2
 

KAHLUA

 
kahlua-rum-with-coffee-liq-booze-2
kahlua-rum-with-coffee-liq-booze

LIDL

Made by Westons

lidl-booxe2

 Any more?

MARKS AND SPENCER

They are clearly labeled, but it is questionable.  On their vegan product list – the wording says:

“None of their vegan products ‘contain’ animal derived ingredients. With regards to alcohol – while animal ingredients are used in the refining process it’s widely accepted than none remain in the alcohol itself and that’s why it’s not listed as an ingredient.”

They have been emailed with no response. These eight liquors are not all labelled vegan, however they are all on the vegan M & S list.

booze-ms-liquors-all-on-vegan-list2

booze-ms-liquors-all-on-vegan-list

booze-ms

booze-ms2

wine-ms-8-labeled-vegan

MORRISONS

They have a vegan alcohol list, but you need to contact them for them to ask them to check the list for you! This cider has been confirmed vegan. Also available in 500ml glass bottles and 4 x pint cans.

 The wine list has been added to Our Unofficial Morrisons Vegan List.

ORCHARD PIG

Bottles all labelled vegan. Dark Cider the Moon Sloe berry cider draught beer is also vegan.

booze orchard pig booze orchard pig 2

b1

b4

OXFORD LANDINGS

NORCOTTS

Elderflower, Pear, Apple, Raspberry  & Orange and Cranberry

cider norcotts cider norcotts2

PILSNER

PORTAL BAY

Spotted in Home Bargains.

SAINSBURY’S

They clearly label and some months they include the alcohol list in their vegan lists. For their latest vegan lists see this page.

s-mulled s-mulled1

booze-s-sherry booze-s-sherry2

SAMUAL SMITHS

SMIRNOFFS

Red Vodka
SNAIL BANK CIDER

“Yes, all of our ciders are suitable for both Vegans and Vegetarians”

SOLEIL

Spotted in Sainsbury’s labelled vegan.

wine in sainsburys labelled vegan

TESCO

For their latest vegan lists see this page.

If they are not labelled vegan, first look to see if its vegetarian and check they is any allergy info for eggs and milk which they have to list by law. Good chance its vegan if its clear of allergens, then just check the list. Although they have started labelling them as vegan, so hopefully all will be soon.

this Finest wine is actually labelled vegan too!

tesco-mulled tesco-mulled-in

THATCHERS

b1

b3

THISTLY CROSS CIDER

“All of our ciders are suitable for vegans.”

THREE MILLS

WAITROSE

They have started labelling booze vegan. They also have produced a booklet, although there are mistakes in there. You can also search online for there vegan booze or to check their vegan lists, see this page.

w-beer-booklet-vegan-marked-with-a-leaf

w-beer-booklet-showing-leaf

WESTONS

WKD

wkd-vegan

WINE ROUTE

WILD THING

WYLD WOOD CIDER

b2

 
0 Comments
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vegan Soft Drinks Vegan Womble
you might also like:

an ever-growing list of

Vegan Soft Drinks

Vegan Crisps and Popcorn Vegan Womble
you might also like:

Vegan Crisps and Popcorn Type Snacks

not just ready salted!