Vegan Doughnuts

by Sandra
Last updated: 24/02/18

Note: Packaging and ingredients can change over time, so please DOUBLE CHECK EVERYTHING, and let us know if you spot any changes or errors. We include products that state ‘may contain milk/egg’, i.e. they are at risk of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process. This is simply an allergy warning, but these products cannot be marked vegan by law. They are however, generally considered suitable for vegans. To help keep this resource going, Vegan Womble would receive a small commission if you were to purchase products via any affiliate links in this post. Affiliate links are marked with *. Read our full legal disclaimer…

Product information and photos are submitted by the Vegan Womble community – you are our eyes and ears. We will keep adding products as they come in, so please keep sending us your vegan discoveries.

Round up of accidentally vegan doughnuts, and some made for vegan ones, from shops in the UK.


Round jam doughtnut’s in some stores, as usual it depends if they are baked bake from scratch or cooked from frozen – check with bakery to see allergen/ingredients folder. 


Jam Ball and Custard Ball from the in store bakery. From time to time the ring donuts are vegan. Watch out for beeswax, often listed as E901. Some smaller Co-ops don’t stock their own brand as they don’t have a bakery and sell other brands. So make sure they are Co-op bakery sold in brown bags or loose in some stores.

Co-op Custard Doughnuts

Co-op Custard Doughnuts

(Co-op bakery also sell fruit pies, apple puffs and apple and blackberry turnovers) 



These Funtime doughnuts are often sold in small shops. One to look out for. The custard ones have been confirmed vegan by the supplier.

M & S

Frozen party range, not all year




 I find that some stores still label some with allergens. So always best to check with your store incase they are doing anything different. Should be raspberry, apple and salted caramel.
salted caramel donuts doughnuts

salted caramel donuts


The Nottingham Doughnut Co. has shops only in Nottingham and Derby at the moment, but they do turn up at markets, food festivals etc. from time to time. They usually have three vegan options as standard— Cinnamon Whirl, a Jam one and a Peanut Butter & Jam.  New flavours are advertised via their social media but are limited edition. All flavours are subject to availability. The shops are closed on Mondays

Cinnamon Whirl

Cinnamon Whirl



Donut information – not all stores

custard doughnuts

custard doughnuts

custard doughnut ingredients from bakery book

custard doughnut ingredients from bakery book

jam doughnuts ingredients from bakery book

jam doughnuts ingredients from bakery book


The bags are the same, its just the allergen info that is different. The bag will say if they contain eggs and you can always check if they make them from scratch to double check.


North West London Area

Apple Donuts
Jam Donuts

(They also have Belgium buns, Bread Pudding buns, Chelsea buns, Currant buns, Hot cross buns and Swiss buns)



Leave a Comment
  • Kerry says:

    A lot of the ingrediants have niacin and thiamin listed. How do we know, unless it is stated, whether they are animal or plant derived? It makes shopping nigh on impossible sometimes.

  • Helen Gillespie says:

    I started a petition for this- supermarkets to be consistent and include sugar ring donut and only 200+ signed disappointingly so I stopped and it’s sitting in my account ☹️

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Vegan Sweet Treats Vegan Womble
you might also like:

A long, ever-growing list of

vegan sweet treats

Vegan Chocolate Bars Vegan Womble
you might also like:

vegan chocolate bars + bags

a huge range… not just plain chocolate!