New Vegan Christmas Food and Drink at Costa

by Emma Phillips
Last updated: 31/10/18

Costa have a number of new festive-themed food and drink items available for us vegans across the country. Alongside their Sticky Toffee and Pecan Cookie you can now enjoy the Gluten Free Iced Fruit Slice and Mince Tart, as well as tucking in to a bar of 70% Cocoa Dark Chocolate.

Dairy free drinks include:

Black Forest Hot Chocolate – made with soya or coconut milk without the cream & chocolate swirls

Shimmer Coffee – made with soya or coconut milk

Hazelnut Praline Latte –  made with soya or coconut without cream and the crispy toffee crumb

Hazelnut Praline Hot Chocolate – as above

Gingerbread Latte – made with soya or coconut and served without cream and gingerbread man (boooo!)

Gingerbread Hot Chocolate – as above

Orange Latte – made with soya or coconut without cream

Orange Hot Chocolate – as above

The hot chocolate powder used by Costa contains no ingredients of animal origin but carry a cross contamination risk. 

Hopefully by next Christmas we’ll see Costa serving vegan whipped cream on their drinks!

Have you tried one of Costa’s festive treats yet? Share what you think with our community!

15 Comments
Leave a Comment
  • Max Platini says:

    I was told by the staff at the Stockton-on-Tees High Street Costa branch that I couldn’t have hazelnut syrup added with soya milk in my latte. I asked why and they said that the instruction had just come in from up above. What a joke. I’ve been having that drink for years. So I walked across to Caffe Nero and enjoyed my hazelnut soya latte there instead. Costa – get your act together.

  • Marta Nytko says:

    Just yesterday … I was told by staff in Costa Waterstones near by Trafalgar Square that their plain hot chocolate made wit soy milk is still not suitable for vegans. Any idea why would their staff be informed about it not being vegan?

  • Sian says:

    Also checked with our local Costa yesterday and after checking the ingredients for the hot chocolate they said that they were not vegan. I’m led to believe it now contains dairy.

    • Costa actually sent out the information and the hot chocolate they use is Cadbury Drinking Chocolate, which is suitable for vegans. In 20 years they have never deviated from that so I believe you have been misinformed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.